Driving With Suspended License

You can be charged with driving on a suspended or revoked license in Virginia if you are driving a motor vehicle, your license is suspended or revoked and you know that your license has been suspended or revoked. Virginia treats this charge as a Class 1 Misdemeanor, with maximum penalties of fines up to $2500, a suspension of your license for the same period it was suspended before and up to one year in jail. If you have been convicted of this offense three times within ten (10) years, you will also face a mandatory minimum jail sentence of 10 days.--Read More--


APLG understands that many people who have consumer financial issues may also be facing criminal charges. In fact, many times these criminal charges play a big role in ruining peoples' finances to begin with. Virginia is a relatively strict jurisdiction when it comes to criminal offenses, and in particular charges of DWI (driving while intoxicated by alcohol/drugs), Reckless Driving and Driving While License is Revoked/Suspended.--Read More--

Reckless Driving

You can be charged with Reckless Driving in Virginia if you are driving in excess of 20mph over the speed limit, 80mph (regardless of the speed limit) or driving in a manner that "endangers the life, limb or property of any person". Virginia categorizes a Reckless Driving charge as a Class 1 Misdemeanor, with maximum penalties of up to $2500 in fines, a six month suspension of your driver's license and one year in jail. A conviction will also add six points to your DMV record. Since it is a criminal charge, a conviction will show up on your permanent criminal record if you are an adult. Obviously, this could be a huge problem for people who are applying for jobs or require licenses or security clearances from other private and public institutions which conduct criminal background checks.--Read More--